Call us today!

(651) 639-1223

Executive Committee



Gary Wertish, President

Wertish was elected President of MFU on January 21, 2017. Before that Wertish was elected as MFU Vice President in 2009. He is a farmer who previously worked as an MFU Field Representative and worked for Senator Mark Dayton as his Agricultural Director. He farms with one of his sons raising corn, soybeans, navy beans and finishes out cattle and hogs. Gary and his wife Jeanne have four grown children and four grandchildren.



Bryan Klabunde, Vice President

Bryan Klabunde was elected MFU Vice President in February 2017. He served as the Mahnomen County Farmers Union President from 2010-2017 and is a director on the Farmers Union Industries Board.
Bryan runs his family’s farm in Waubun, where he grows corn, soybeans and navy beans. When he is not busy with MFU or his farm, Bryan likes to spend time with his twin daughters Lauren and Avery
and son Nolan.
Bryan is proud of the work that MFU does for rural Minnesota and looks forward to working for the wonderful people of our organization for years to come.

Anne Schwagerl, Secretary

Anne Schwagerl was elected as the MFU Secretary in 2017. She and her husband, Peter, operate a diversified grain and livestock operation near Beardsley in Big Stone County. Their family operates nearly 300 acres and grows non-GMO corn, food-grade soybeans, small grains, and alfalfa as well as a pastured pork and laying hen operation. They are in the process of transitioning their cropping acres to organic production. Prior to returning home to farm, Anne earned her Bachelor's Degree in Geography at Gustavus Adolphus College in St. Peter and worked in the field of nonprofit grant management at National Geographic Society and United Way. Anne currently serves as the Vice President of the Big Stone County chapter of MFU. 


Ted Winter

Ted was elected to the MFU Executive Board in 2017. He serves as the President of the Rock & Nobles County Farmers Union and is an insurance agent with Minnesota Farmers Union Insurance Agency. He served in the Minnesota House of Representatives from 1987 - 2003, advocating for agriculture and farmers. 


Alan Perish

Alan is Todd County President and was elected to the MFU Executive Board in 2016. He has attended every state convention since 1999 and has worked hard to make sure that there is always a Farmers Union presence in Todd County. Alan has been a multi-year recipient of the Silver Star Award and several Leadership Awards. Alan also serves as Hartford Township Board Treasurer and has a position on the Region 5 Commission and has been the chair of Todd County Township Officer Association. Alan and his wife, Karen, won the Outstanding Leadership Award in 2011. In 2015, he was presesnted the Orville L. Freeman Award for Distinguished Service to Greater Minnesota and Agricultural Issues. 


Eunice Biel, Chair

Eunice was elected to the MFU Executive Board in 1999. A graphic design artist with the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Eunice's education includes a Masters Degree in Public Affairs from the University of Minnesota, and a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Communication from Winona State University. She and her husband, Robert, in partnership with their son, Kevin, and his wife Kelly, operate a dairy farm near Harmony in Fillmore County. Their family operates 950 acres, and grows corn, soybeans, and hay. Eunice also serves as Fillmore County Farmers Union President.


Larry Jacobson

Larry is Clay County President, and became involved with Farmers Union by participating in youth camps, and received the Torchbearer Award for achievement in education programs. He is the Town Board Chairman, and a member of the Clay County Soybeans Grower Board. He has served as Clay County president for 20 years and raises more than 600 acres of crops with his wife, Regina, on their family farm near Hitterdal.

Josh VanDerPol

Josh VanDerPol is president of Chippewa County Farmers Union. He raises pork at Pastures A'Plenty. He was elected to the Executive Committee in 2018.