Call us today!

(651) 639-1223

Norma Hanson Receives Lifetime Achievement Award
By Communications Director

ST. PAUL (November 17, 2012) Minnesota Farmers Union honored Norma Hanson of Goodridge with their Lifetime Achievement Award at their 71st annual state convention.

“Norma Hanson always fights for what she thinks is fair and is an excellent proponent of agriculture policy that helps the family farmer and rural Minnesota,” said Doug Peterson, Minnesota Farmers Union President.  “She has spent her life fighting for others and Minnesota Farmers Union is proud to honor her with our Lifetime Achievement Award and thank her for her years of service fighting for family farmers.”

Norma and her husband Lynn started farming 160 acres in 1955, raised hogs and began their reg­istered Ayrshire dairy herd, while growing small grain crops; it eventually expanded to 880 acres, which they still farm. She takes pride in having maintained the herd for over 50 years, which her son and grandsons continue.

She has been active in agri-women groups, Northwest Minnesota Women’s Fund and the Northwest Minnesota Foundation. She had a key role in 4-H in northwest Minnesota and has been heavily involved in civic organization in her area, including historical preservation in the Goodridge area and helping establish the Coya Knutson Scholarship at Northland Community and Technical College.

Norma has been heavily involved in the DFL, holding several positions in her county, as well as serving as delegate to several Democratic National Conventions. In 1968, she was the DFL candidate for the Minnesota House in her district.

There have been numerous times that Norma was recognized for her efforts, including: 2009 Induction into the Northwest Minnesota Women’s Hall of Fame, Farm and Ranch Guide Country Women of the Year, Red River Valley Homemaker, Minnesota Purebred Dairy Cattle Association Outstanding Breeders, Red River Valley Dairyman Association recognition and most recently, induction into the DFL Women’s Hall of Fame and DFL Women of Distinction.

Norma Hanson