Call us today!

(651) 639-1223

MFU returns from Washington, D.C. where they pushed for a farm bill
By Communications Director

ST. PAUL (September 12, 2013) Minnesota Farmers Union (MFU) members joined more than 275 fellow farmers, ranchers and fishermen from across the country in Washington, D.C., September 8 through 11, 2013, for the National Farmers Union annual fall legislative fly-in. 

“Having MFU members tell our senators and representatives just what this lack of a farm bill is doing to their family and their livelihood is so important,” said Doug Peterson, Minnesota Farmers Union President. “We were able to help Members of Congress understand the severity of what Congress’s inaction is doing to family farmers and rural communities, and express the urgency of getting a farm bill done.” 

Farmers Union fly-in participants highlighted the importance of the farm bill, renewable energy policies, and many other policies that impact their operations and lives. They had a briefing with Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack, White House officials, and House and Senate Agriculture Committee staffers, as well as meeting with senators and representatives.

MFU members attending include: Deborah Felling of Sauk Centre; David Gilbertson of Kensington; Deborah Gilbertson of Kensington; Eric Hoese of Mayer; Merlyn Hubin of Westbrook; Ryan Hubin of Westbrook; Marvin Jensen of Kensington; Edward and Lynn Jostock of Rochester; Brent Krohn of Nicollet, with the Beginning Farmers Institute; Bryce Krohn of Nicollet, with the Beginning Farmers Institute; Linda Larson of Rosemount; Timothy Larson of Medford, agriculture educator; Mariah Larson of Medford, FFA student; Samantha Larson of Medford, FFA student; Duane Lichy, Agriculture Educator of Albany; Richard Moen of Clearbrook;  Jennifer Nelson of Sauk Centre; Meghan Osterbauer of DeGraff, with the National Youth Advisory Council; Gene Paul of Delavan, with NFO; Alan Perish of Browerville; Peter and Stacy Ripka of Ogilvie, with the Farmers Union Enterprises’ Young Couples Program; Brian Rohrenbach of Rosemount; Caleb Schmitz of New London, with the National Youth Advisory Council; Thomas Schuster of Morris; Dean Schuster of Chokio; Alexis Strong of Sauk Centre, MFU FFA essay winner; Carsten Thomas of Moorhead, with the Beginning Farmers Institute; and Harmon Wilts of Kerkhoven.